44th Faculty Senate 2020-2021

Minutes for the 44th Faculty Senate Meeting Monday, December 7th, 2020 4:00 p.m. via Zoom

The meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order by Dr. Ndi, Chair, at 4:05 p.m. followed with prayer by Mrs. Samuel.

Attendees Present: 28

Names are attached to the meeting minutes. If your name was omitted, please notify the secretary so that it can be added to the roster.

Adoption of the Minutes

Continuing Education and Outreach Committee (Dr. Yvette Essounga, Chair)

Dr. Essounga reported that three committee members met on November 5th, at which time they discussed a new approach for implementing their outreach efforts, particularly during the pandemic. She noted that during their meeting, Dr. Bender suggested using video recordings for the proposed workshops. In addition, the committee will identify Tuskegee University students to create and design videos on financial management that are age appropriate and suited for middle schoolers. The committee also discussed developing videos and podcasts for our university community, students, faculty, and staff. These student driven videos would cover topics on mental health, wellness, and financial matters. The committee will meet again in January.

Grievance Committee (Mrs. Eunice Samuel, Chair)

The chair reported that there are no grievances to date.

Instruction Committee (Dr. John Tilghman, Chair)

This committee met on November 4th to edit the online teaching survey which focused on the strengths and weaknesses of teaching during COVID-19. Dr. Tilghman reported that the survey, comprised of thirty questions, was submitted to Dr. Kellie Samuels for distribution beginning on November 16th, 2020. To encourage more participation, the survey deadline was extended to December 11, 2020. Per Dr. Kahai's request, the link to the survey will be resent.

Other Business

Temporary Senator to Replace Dr. Abugri

Dr. Ndi asked Mrs. Samuel to email the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences requesting him to identify a faculty member to replace Dr. Abugri on the senate for the duration of the term. The appointee will not serve in the capacity of chair of the Research and Graduate Studies Committee.

Teaching Award for Excellence in Online Teaching in Honor of Jacqueline McArthur-Taylor

Sub-Committee Members: Dr. Ann C. Gebhard, Chair, and Dr. John H. Tilghman

Dr. Ndi led this discussion by stating that he had received an email opposing the establishment of an award in honor of Jacqueline McArthur-Taylor, citing that because Ms. McArthur-Taylor was terminated, there might be legal implications. Dr. Ndi consulted with the University's attorney, who had no recollection of any pending legal issues, but would check his records in follow-up to the matter, then get back with the Chair.

Dr. Gebhard asked from what level did the pushback come from? Dr. Ndi indicated that it had come from the departmental level. In response Dr. Gebhard expressed that since the Faculty Senate is establishing the award, and not the university or administration, the senate should be able to honor whom it chooses. Dr. Ndi echoed Dr. Gebhard's sentiments and encouraged the committee and

The sub-committee agreed to not only propose an award in

Graduate Student Survey

Dr. Kahai reminded faculty to participate in his graduate students' survey. He will send out a reminder and strongly encouraged faculty to respond.

44th Faculty Senate