## Adoption of Minutes

It was moved by Dr. Tilghman and seconded by Mr. Parham that the minutes of the October 5<sup>th</sup>, meeting be approved with the following corrections and additions. The motion carried. Dr. Nashar's name was added as the person who asked the question about the members of the standing committees. Drs. Lynn Benson, April Jones, Moses Ntam, and Zahid Baig were added to the attendance sheet, and the misspelled names of Drs. Dibaba, Imafidon, Ortigoza, and Jafarinejad were corrected.

## Committee Chair Reports

Academic Affairs Committee (Mrs. Mary Arrington, Chair) Ms. Arrington had class but emailed her report.

The AAC met on October 14<sup>th</sup> and approved two proposals: The Department of Computer Science, Micro Credential in Cyber Security, a graduate certification program, and the Department of Material Science and Engineering, Non-Thesis Option in Material Science and Engineering. Dr. Ndi added that the committee has a new proposal from the College of Agriculture.

Academic Personnel Services Committee (Dr. Li Huang, Chair)

Dr. Huang reported that the U-APSC membership is complete. The deadline for tenure and promotion packets is Thursday, November 5<sup>th</sup>. After the College Committees review the packets, then the U-APSC will begin their review process next semester.

Research and Graduate Studies Committee (Dr. Daniel Abugri, Chair)

Dr. Abugri is still reaching out to Dr. Jelani, Dean of Graduate Studies to schedule a meeting date. The concerns expressed at the previous meeting remain unresolved. Dr. Abugri looks forward to having colleagues join the committee as they champion the goals of the University in becoming an R2 or R1 research institution. Dr. Ndi made a plea for faculty with an interest in research and graduate studies to join the committee and contact Dr. Abugri.

Continuing Education and Outreach Committee (Dr. Yvette Essounga, Chair)
This committee met on Friday, October 29<sup>th</sup> at 9 a.m. In addition to the Chair, members present were Dr. Glotova, Mrs. Graham, and two new members, Dr. Jones, and Dr. Bender. The committee discussed many ideas for programs. Ms. Graham spoke with the principal at Tuskegee Institute Middle School (TIMS) who remains interested in working with the committee on their proposed program via Zoom. Ms. Graham will serve as the liaison between the committee and TIMS. The committee plans to execute at least one of their ideas next semester.

Grievance Committee (Mrs. Eunice Samuel, Chair)

The committee is now up to five members. Representation is still needed from CAENS, SONAH, TSACS, and COE. There were no grievances to report.

Instruction Committee (Dr. John Tilghman, Chair)

The committee met on October 26<sup>th</sup> at 6 p.m. Members worked on constructing a survey aided by Dr. Kellie Samuels who provided a sample of last semester's survey. Once questions are edited, they will be uploaded and distributed to faculty online. The committee will meet again on Wednesday, November 4<sup>th</sup> with the goal of getting the survey to Dr. Samuels by Thursday, November 5<sup>th</sup>. November 10<sup>th</sup> or 11th is the target date for launching the survey.

Other Business/Discussion

(Note: Some guestions and comments posted in the chat area are included)

Dr. Ndi opened the discussion stating that every year the Faculty Senate, Staff Senate and the Office of Provost present recognition awards to faculty and staff for their contributions to the University. The awards ceremony is scheduled for Friday, November 6<sup>th</sup>, at 3 p.m., via Zoom.

Teaching Award for Excellence in Online Teaching in Honor of Ms. Jacqueline McArthur Dr. Gebhard proposed that the Faculty Senate establish a Teaching Award for Excellence in Online Teaching in honor of Ms. Jacqueline McArthur, given her extraordinary service to the University. She noted that Ms. McArthur was a tremendous support when we went online last semester. She remembers the initial resistance to online courses and Ms. McArthur was there in the very beginning. She was fundamentally responsible for getting online classes started here at the University. Dr. Ndi seconded the proposal and said that Ms. McArthur never relented and applauded her commitment and excellence. Dr. Fox and Dr. Tilghman both agreed and seconded the proposal. Dr. Tilghman shared his work experiences with Ms. McArthur and credited her for moving TU into the 21st century and for preparing us for online classes, particularly during this pandemic. Several faculty members commented on Ms. McArthur's commitment and service to the University, and the senate unanimously agreed to move forward with the proposal. To provide more clarity to her proposal, Dr. Gebhard stated that what she has in mind is for this to be an annual award with Ms. McArthur's name attached to it. Dr. Ndi asked that a sub-committee be formed to work out the details and bring it back to the Senate for final approval.

Dr. Quansah inquired about Ms. McArthur and the reason for her leaving. Dr. Ndi stated that he did not know the particulars, but based upon his understanding, she was given a termination letter. He cautioned members against speculation and suggested that we direct our focus on honoring her service. Dr. Tilghman went on to add that in his conversation with Brett Coppenger, the office of ODEOL will continue to exist and that the Office of the Provost is

## 44th Faculty Senate 2020-2021

## Attendees

Faculty Senate Meeting Monday,