44th Faculty Senate



Committee Chair Reports

Academic Affairs Committee (Mrs. Mary Arrington, Chair)

Mrs. Arrington had a 6:30 class but submitted report to Dr. Ndi.

The Academic Affairs Committee met on September 17th, 2020. Eight members were present. The committee reviewed three proposals. The committee made recommendations and the proposals were given back to the originators for clarification. Once the clarifications are made, the proposals will be reconsidered for approval, and the committee will move forward with the process. Members of this committee are appointed by the deans.

Chair: Dr Bill F. Ndi
Vice Chair: Dr. Jay Bhuyan
Executive Secretary: Eunice A. Samuel



Dr. Ndi suggested that he contact Dr. Kellie Samuels or Dr. Preston Robinson to obtain that information, and if his assistance is needed, to please let him know.

Other Business

Dr. Ndi led the discussion by strongly urging Senators to join a committee and reminded us that we are not limited to serving on just one committee. Four faculty Senators from the College of Veterinary Medicine were welcomed to the Senate (Dr. Lanell Ogden, Dr. Toufic Nashar, Dr. Woubit Abebe, and Dr. Asseged Dibaba).

Question from Dr. Essounga: Are we going to have t-shirts at the end of the semester?

Dr. Ndi: If this is something we are interested in, I will follow-up and reach out to the budget office to see if we can purchase t-shirts for the regular attendees of the Senate meetings. Additionally, at the end of the year, Certificates of Service will be awarded to regular attendees as evidence of service to the University.

Question by Dr. Nashar: When will we know the names of the members of each committee?

Dr. Ndi screen shared the agenda listing the names of the Committee Chairs and suggested that they be contacted for additional information.

Question: Dr. Bender wondered if there was a space where she could join.

Dr. Essounga invited Dr. Bender to join the Continuing Education and Outreach Committee and would be reaching out to her.

After there were no more questions or concerns, it was motioned by Dr. Tilghman and seconded by Mr. Parham that the meeting adjourn.

Dr. Ndi thanked members again for their participation and the meeting was adjourned at 6:59 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Eunice A. Samuel, Executive Secretary

Chair: Dr Bill F. Ndi
Vice Chair: Dr. Jay Bhuyan
Executive Secretary: Eunice A. Samuel



Attendees

Faculty Senate Meeting Monday, October 5th, 2020

- 1. Abebe, Woubit
- 2. Arrington, Mary
- 3. Asog, Rosemary
- 4. Asogwa, Sunday
- 5. Baig, Zahid
- 6. Bender, Jennifer
- 7. Benson, Lynn
- 8. Chitra, Nayak
- 9. Dibaba, Asseged
- 10. Esfandiary, Esmaeil
- 11. Essounga, Yvette
- 12. Fishkin, Benjamin

Chair: Dr Bill F. Ndi
Vice Chair: Dr. Jay Bhuyan
Executive Secretary: Eunice A. Samuel